RCC Honors History Project

Letter: W.L. Garrison to F. Todd

Posted by elsiegonzalez on November 17, 2009

This is a letter William Lloyd Garrison wrote to Francis Todd while in prison.
Francis Todd Letter

2 Responses to “Letter: W.L. Garrison to F. Todd”

  1. sethrd23 said

    A lot of the arguements that Garrison makes in this letter seem to reflect those that he makes in the first issue of “The Liberator.” This letter does cause me to ask whether or not comparing the family of Todd to slaves would be an effective way to argue his points (however legitimate). I wonder this because it sems that anyone who protected the idea of slavery may be too disconnected from blacks to be able to make that camparison.

  2. elsiegonzalez said

    I’m really not sure whether comparing a possible separation of Francis Todd from his family, to what happens to slave families was effective for Francis Todd. But when I read “There is no sacrifice so painful to parents as the loss of their offspring. So cries the voice of nature!”, it made me think of what it would feel like if I were to be separated from my family. I must imagine that these thoughts must have gone through Todd’s head upon receipt of this letter, how could they have not? I also find the line “I am in prison for denouncing slavery in a free country!” incredibly ironic; being behind bars for denouncing slavery in what is supposed to be a free country. America is just one big giant content full of ironies, past and present.

Leave a Reply

 
